Untitled Document
Donate Now Women's Foundation for a Greater Memphis  

One Commerce Square, 40 S. Main Street, Suite 2280
Memphis, TN 38103 • 901-578-9346

  InstagramFind us on FlickerFind us on YoutubeFollow us on TwitterFind us on Facebook  


Legends Award Reception

Thursday, April 12, 2018 | 6:00 – 8:00 p.m.

Andrea Zucker Photography

The Legends Award pays tribute to women whose work embodies the mission of the Women’s Foundation. The purpose of the award is to applaud these Honorees, whose visionary and innovative work is of paramount significance in their specialized areas of outreach.

Sponsorship opportunties available. Learn more ...

Purchase tickets for the 2018 Annual Tribute Luncheon ...

The 2018 Legends Award will recognize women in the following areas/categories:

Philanthropy and Leadership Award

A woman who has made outstanding financial donations to not-for-profit organizations, has demonstrated leadership through community service including civic, cultural, economic, charitable, recreational or educational, and generously volunteers her time and talent to benefit a segment of our community.

Catalyst Award

A visionary that demonstrates selfless dedication to creating positive change in the community and through activism, public and civic services has empowered constituencies, strengthened participation, inspired movements, and/or has instituted an organization or foundation, or was the first in her field.

Innovation Award

A woman who has transformed her chosen field, has served as a role model to other fields, and has had a significant impact on advancing not only their own institutional interests, but also the broader interests of the community.

 Past Legends Award Honorees

2017 Legends Award Honorees 
Pat Morgan, Catalyst Award | Barbara Holden Nixon, Innovation Award | Edith Kelly-Green, Philanthropy and Leadership Award 

2016 Legends Award Honorees
Honey Scheidt, Philanthropy and Leadership Award | Linn Sitler, Innovation Award | Beverly C. Robertson, Catalyst Award

2015 Legends Award Honorees
WFGM founding matriarch Mertie Willigar Buckman and the 1995 Women's Foundation for a Greater Memphis Board of Directors

2014 Legends Award Honorees
Nancy Bogatin | Dr. Erma Clanton | Frances Dancy Hooks | Mary Shainberg | Modeane Thompson

2013 Legends Award Honorees
Dr. Rosie Phillips Bingham | Kathy Buckman Gibson | Carolyn Chism Hardy | Hazel G. Moore | Dr. Barbara U. Prescott | Rachel Shankman

2012 Legends Award Honorees
Judge Bernice B. Donald | Velma Lois Jones | Sylvia Goldsmith Marks | Dorothy Gunther Pugh | Dr. Shirley C. Raines

2011 Legends Award Honorees
Barbara R. Hyde | Onie Johns | Deanie Parker | Marguerite Piazza (1926-2012) | Annie Laurie Ervin Willis (1925-2010)

2010 Legends Award Honorees
Dr. JoeAnn Ballard | Lois DeBerry (1945-2013) | Gayle S. Rose | Rebecca Webb Wilson | Jocelyn Dan Wurzburg

2009 Legends Award Honorees
Minerva Johnican (1938-2013) | Susan Sanford | Maxine Smith (1929-2013) | Dr. Jane Walters | Happy Jones and Jeanne Varnell